October 2013

What’s New · World War Z Readalikes

If you’re a fan of Max Brooks’s World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, then you’ll want to check out these other tales featuring vampires, werewolves, zombies, and other supernatural creatures. Stock up just in time for Halloween!

Domino Falls

Domino Falls by Steven Barnes and Tananarive Due
This sequel to Devil’s Wake finds the ragtag group of teens introduced in the first novel still struggling for survival in a world populated by flesh-eating “freaks.” They find sanctuary in a community called Domino Falls, but their relief is soon overshadowed by the discovery that several girls have gone missing after entering the “safe haven.”

The Necromancer’s House by Christopher Buehlman
Andrew Blankenship is a recovering alcoholic and a practicing warlock, able to speak with the dead through film. His house is a maze of booby traps and escape tunnels, as yours might be if you were sitting on a treasury of Russian magic stolen from the Soviet Union thirty years ago. Now a monster straight from the pages of Russian folklore is coming for him, and frost and death are coming with her.

The Twelve by Justin Cronin
In North America, a failed government experiment has turned most of humanity into vampirelike creatures called virals. If the original 12 carriers of the virus can be found and destroyed (they are now “supercreatures”), then humanity has a chance at survival.

Talulla Rising

Talulla Rising by Glen Duncan
Grieving for her werewolf lover, Jake, whose violent death has left her alone with her own sublime monstrousness, Tallula Demetriou is pregnant and on the run, fleeing to Alaska to have her child in secret. With her infant son in her arms, it looks as if the worst is over—until the door bursts open and she realizes her nightmare is only beginning.

Affliction: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel by Laurel Hamilton
Vampire hunter Anita Blake faces down a powerful zombie horde in Hamilton’s latest bestseller. Her lover’s father lies dying from a strange ailment that has his doctors whispering about zombie disease. Can Anita find the perpetrators before it’s too late?

The Walking Dead: The Fall of the Governor by Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga
From co-authors Kirkman, executive producer of AMC’s blockbuster TV series, and Jay Bonansinga, Stoker Award-finalist and internationally acclaimed author, comes the gripping third novel in this richly woven, page-turning literary saga about the zombie apocalypse, which began with The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor.

Cover of Red Moon

Red Moon by Benjamin Percy
In Red Moon’s alternative world, humans and werewolves (lycans) have coexisted forever. Lycans are required by law to take a medicine to keep from changing with the full moon. When Lycan terrorists target American airliners, the innocent and guilty alike are rounded up, and an all-out war ensues.

Stoker’s Manuscript by Royce Prouty
When rare-manuscript expert Joseph Barkeley is hired to authenticate and purchase the original draft and notes for Bram Stoker’s Dracula, little does he know that the buyer is a member of Transylvania’s oldest family. After delivering the manuscript to the Bran Castle in Romania, Barkeley realizes to his horror that he’s become a prisoner to the son of Vlad Dracul.

Need more Recommendations?

Check out NoveList Plus and Books & Authors, our databases for readers. Or call or stop by your local library and one of our staff members will be happy to assist you!