September 2014

What’s New · Featured Book of the Month Program: September

This Is Where I Leave You

Adult Title

Place a hold on our September selections for the Featured Book of the Month program!

This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
Read the book and then see the movie starring Tina Fey and Jason Bateman on September 15th!
“The death of Judd Foxman’s father marks the first time that the entire Foxman clan has congregated in years. There is, however, one conspicuous absence: Judd’s wife, Jen, whose affair with his radio-shock-jock boss has recently become painfully public. Simultaneously mourning the demise of his father and his marriage, Judd joins his dysfunctional family as they reluctantly sit shiva--and spend seven days and nights under the same roof. The week quickly spins out of control as longstanding grudges resurface, secrets are revealed, and old passions are reawakened. Then Jen delivers the clincher: she’s pregnant.”
Publisher

The Raven Boys

Here Be Monsters

Teen Title

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
“For as long as she can remember, Blue has been told that her fate is to kiss her true love and cause him to die. Her family of psychics takes these warnings seriously, and for this reason, among others, she avoids the arrogant Raven Boys of Aglionby, an exclusive all-male private school in her small Virginia town that sports the dark bird on its crest and tailored uniforms. Then on St. Mark’s Eve, Blue sees an apparition in the tell-tale Aglionby uniform that identifies himself only as Gansey. Later she meets the ill-fated Gansey and his crew--brooding Ronan, affable Adam, and rumpled Noah--and, despite her misgivings, decides to help them wake an ancient power beneath the land. Unbeknownst to our teenaged paranormal explorers, some devious adults are on the same trail and will stop at nothing to harness the power for themselves.”
Library Journal

Children’s Title

Here Be Monsters! by Alan Snow
Read the book and then see the animated movie The Boxtrolls on September 26th!

“Ratbridge is populated by a variety of odd creatures and equally unusual humans. Underlings, including boxtrolls (shy trolls that wear boxes) and cabbageheads (they worship cabbage and wear them tied to their heads), live in tunnels and caves beneath the city. A boy named Arthur emerges from his subterraneous home and discovers an evil plot. The shady members of the Cheese Guild, led by an unpleasant fellow called Snatcher, are kidnapping underlings and plotting to take over the town. Arthur’s allies against the Guild include underlings, a man in iron socks, and the pirates and rats that run the Nautical Laundry. There’s a great deal of inspired silliness throughout, which may appeal to fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket. Numerous high-quality, black-and-white illustrations bring Ratbridge and its citizens to life.”
School Library Journal

Look for displays of all our Featured Book of the Month titles at your local branch and the Main Library!