March 2014

What’s New · Under the Wide and Starry Sky Readalikes

Under the Wide and Starry Sky

The Today Show’s latest book club pick is Nancy Horan’s Under the Wide and Starry Sky, a gorgeous fictional reimagining of the relationship between Scottish novelist Robert Louis Stevenson and his American wife Fanny Van de Grift Osbourne. If you love biographical fiction, then this list is for you!

The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin
Acclaimed novelist Melanie Benjamin pulls back the curtain on the marriage of one of America’s most extraordinary couples: Charles Lindbergh and Anne Morrow Lindbergh.

Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier
Tracy Chevalier transports readers to a bygone time and place in this richly-imagined portrait of the young woman who inspired one of Vermeer’s most celebrated paintings.

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler
With brilliant insight and imagination, Therese Anne Fowler brings us the irresistible story of Zelda Fitzgerald, the beautiful but troubled wife of author F. Scott Fitzgerald.

The Paris Wife

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
A deeply evocative story of ambition and betrayal, The Paris Wife captures the love affair between two unforgettable people: Ernest Hemingway and his wife Hadley.

I Always Loved You by Robin Oliveira
A novel of Mary Cassatt and Edgar Degas’s great romance from the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter.

Above All Things by Tanis Rideout
Rideout’s debut is an exhilarating reimagining of British explorer George Mallory’s disastrous last attempt to scale Mt. Everest.

The Twelve Rooms of the Nile by Enid Shomer
Before she became the nineteenth century’s greatest heroine, before he had written a word of Madame Bovary, Florence Nightingale and Gustave Flaubert traveled down the Nile at the same time in 1850. But where history would have these two figures float right by each other, Shomer brings them together to ignite a passionate friendship that alters both their destinies.

Cover of Vienna Nocturne

Vienna Nocturne by Vivien Shotwell
A deeply moving debut novel that brings to life two extraordinary figures—a thirty-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and a young English soprano, Anna Storace, who was his muse—in prose as spirited, timeless, and touching as Mozart’s greatest compositions.

Need more Recommendations?

Check out NoveList Plus our database for readers. Or call or stop by your local library and one of our staff members will be happy to assist you!