December 23, 2012

The Adventures of a South Pole Pig

cover image of The Adventures of a South Pole Pig
A Novel of Snow and Courage
Chris Kurtz

Flora the pig longs for adventure beyond the farm and the confines of her pen. Her chance arrives as she is accidentally loaded onto a ship headed for the South Pole. She assumes she’ll be part of a dog sled team, heroically facing the arctic weather and harsh terrain. She finds loyal friends in Sophia the cat and Oscar the lead sled dog. When tragedy strikes the ship, the entire crew is grateful for Flora’s courage and pluck. For fans of Charlotte’s Web and Babe the Gallant Pig, this novel of animal friendship will entertain and amuse. Ages 8-12