Books, Music & Movies · How We Learn

cover image of How We Learn

How We Learn:The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

Benedict Carey

In the tradition of The Power of Habit, Thinking, Fast and Slow, and Moonwalking with Einstein comes this guide to what we really know about learning and memory—and how we can apply it to our daily lives. Drawing on the latest brain research, New York Times science reporter Benedict Carey argues that a simple desk in a quiet room may not be the best place to hit the books, while poor study habits like napping, daydreaming, taking a break, texting, staying up for a late night cram session, or stopping before a project is complete might actually aid learning. How We Learn is a fascinating book to beat those back-to-school blues!