The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
SEARCH:
skip navigation
March 2003

Special Collections & Indexes—Databases and Internet Indexes

Library collections are no longer bounded by walls, and clippings and card files are being replaced by online databases and internet search engines. But we are still working to collect, organize, and make accessible the information resources that our customers need.

Some important tools collected and created by Library staff to assist Internet users can be found in the Internet Resources section of our website.

Research Databases represent the new collections computer technology makes possible. The Library subscribes to a wide range of important databases, some of which replace familiar print reference tools (like Books in Print or Encyclopædia Britannica).

Sites by Subject is the Library’s own index to useful websites on a variety of topics from Quick Reference resources through Addresses and Phone Numbers, Consumer Information, Health & Nutrition information, and much more.

Cincinnati and the Tristate organizes local resources from Arts & Entertainment through Weather.

Government Resources gives easy access to many useful federal, state, local, and even international government websites.

Web Tools brings together and explains several popular search engines, indexes, and web directories for easier and more informed use.

Of course, our own catalog, is also available. And don’t forget popular features like In the Spotlight, Teenspace, and Kidspace, all of which offer more wonderful virtual collections and access guides for the Library’s users.

Though these look very different from the collections and indexes familiar to users of the Library for the past 150 years, they continue the Library’s legacy of gathering and creating extraordinary resources for our users.

And they’re a part of the continuing efforts of the Library’s staff to build and maintain the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County as one of the nation’s finest public libraries.