The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
skip navigation


Ariadne’s Children by Roderick Beaton

Ariadne’s Children
Roderick Beaton

The Silver Bough
Neil M. Gunn

Valley of the Kings: A Novel of Tutankhamun
Cecelia Holland
(Egypt—Howard Carter expedition)

Thomas Hoving

Silence and Shadows
James Long

The Greek Treasure: A Biographical Novel of Henry and Sophia Schliemann
Irving Stone

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Supernatural Fiction

First Light
Peter Ackroyd

Gregory Benford

The Stone Circle
Gary Goshgarian

The Falling Woman
Pat Murphy

The Bog
Michael Talbot

Peter Tremayne
(Pre-Christian Norway)

Into the Mummy’s Tomb
John Richard Stephens, ed.
(Horror anthology )
823.08738 I61 2001

Mystery, Adventure, and Suspense

Wrack: A Novel
James Bradley

Robin Cook (also in large print)

Serpent: A Novel from the NUMA Files
Clive Cussler and Paul Kemprecos (also in large print and on audiocassette)

David Daniel

The Seventh Sanctuary
Daniel Easterman

The Fire Theft
Mark Graham (also in large print)

Earthly Remains
James Hernon

No Certain Rest
James Lehrer
(U.S. Civil War)

On the Third Day
Piers Paul Read

The Body
Richard Ben Sapir

A Cup of Death
Gene Thompson

Gordon Randolph Willey

The Prophetess
Barbara Wood

These mystery series showcase professional or amateur archaeologists, anthropologists, and antiquarians as sleuths:

Margot Arnold
Penny Spring and Toby Glendower series

Beverly Connor
Lindsay Chamberlain series

Val Davis
Nickolett “Nick” Scott series

Aaron Elkins
Gideon Oliver series

Kate Ellis
Wesley Peterson series

Jason Foss
Jeffrey Flint series

Kathleen O’Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear
Anasazi series, Dusty Stewart and Maureen Cole

Lyn Hamilton
Lara McClintoch

Corson Hirschfeld
Digger Fitz series

Roy Lewis
Arnold Landon series

Sharyn McCrumb
Elizabeth MacPherson series

Jessica Mann
Thea Crawford and Tamara Hoyland series

Elizabeth Peters
Amelia Peabody series

Douglas Preston
Margo Green series
Nora Kelly series

Sarah R. Shaber
Simon Shaw series

M. K. Shuman
Micah Dunn series